2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championships


Melbourne Rebels and cousins Atasi Lafai and Oneata Schwalger are now dual code athletes having been selected to represent Samoa at the upcoming 2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championships.

The Rugby League 9’s tournament will be held at Dolphin Stadium on 23 and 24 February 2018, in the lead-up to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The Championships will showcase ten Commonwealth nations including Australia, England, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Samoa and Tonga.

The power house cousins dominated the Victorian Women’s Rugby competition playing a crucial role in their team’s Lindroth Cup Premiership in 2017 in which Melbourne Rugby Club were victorious. The tournament is part of their final preparations for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Lindroth Cup Premiership 2017

Oneata Schwalger has also been invited to the first Women’s NRL training camp of the year which will assemble on the Gold Coast.

She is among 52 players from across the country who will be attending the camp to push for a Top 40 NRL contract ahead of the inaugural Women’s Premiership later this year.

Proudly supported by:


Snapshot: 2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championships:

– Dates: Friday 23 and Saturday 24 February, 2018
– Venue: Dolphin Stadium, Redcliffe, Queensland
– 9-a-side tournament featuring ten Commonwealth nations
– Open Women’s teams
– Men’s Under 23’s teams
– Physical disabilities teams (Australia, New Zealand and World All-Stars)